The Triumphant Red Sox Fan Forum

keeping the faith online since 1995

  • show your pride

    Wear your heart on your sleeve. Grab the button and post it on your own web site with a link back here.

    I'm a Triumphant Red Sox Fan

  • Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts

    Join 101 other subscribers
  • copyright

    The content of this site, except MLB logos and elsewhere noted, is the property of the author known here as the Triumphant Red Sox Fan. Permission to reprint is granted only if this web site is cited as the source and, in the case of online reprint, a link back is provided.


  • Not affiliated with the Boston Red Sox
  • posts by date

    October 2007
    S M T W T F S
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • posts by month

  • posts by topic

  • listed

    Listed on Globe of Blogs Best Baseball Sites on the Web wordpress com stats
  • disclaimer

    This is a personal web site not affiliated with the Boston Red Sox or Major League Baseball. The opinions expressed are those of the author(s) and commenter(s).

Lasts Chance to Blog before the (knockonwood) Big Win

Posted by Kelly on October 29, 2007

I can’t believe I have gone almost a full week without blogging. The most momentous week of the season, no less, and I was AWOL. I blame it on Allan, my English pen pal, who was visiting Boston with his family, so naturally I had to be the gracious hostess with the mostess and spend quality time with them. I couldn’t say no; international relations were on the line. And besides, Allan is a Red Sox fan.

Anyway, it has been quite the surreal week. After game 7 against Cleveland, I noticed with mild amusement that I didn’t feel the unbridled ecstasy I felt after we beat the Yankees in 2004. It was obviously very satisfying to come from behind, but it was just another step in the road. The ultimate prize, a World Championship, still had to be fought for. That was true in 2004 as well, but there were really two stories: going to the World Series, and dishing out a big dose of abject humiliation to the Yankees in the process. This year, that sub-plot doesn’t exist.

The World Series, on the other hand, is like déjà vu all over again. The highly touted hot team with the great pitching thought they were going to continue to steamroll their way through the postseason. What they didn’t count on is the superior caliber of American League baseball. All that great young starting pitching that was supposed to shut down the Red Sox offense (and did, actually, in game 2, won by the Sox only thanks to our own even better pitching) just hasn’t panned out. You have to feel sorry for them. They were like lambs led to slaughter.

We have our own lamb going tonight in game 4, so I’m not taking anything for granted. This is baseball and anything can happen, even with a 3-0 series lead. Just ask the Yankees; they’ll tell you all about it. But let’s just say that if we win tonight and complete the sweep, I won’t be surprised. This team got hot at exactly the right time. If they do win it all, it will be the perfect ending to the best regular season this team has seen in a very long time.

So without further delay, here are a few of my random thoughts heading into the fourth and possibly final game of the 2007 World Series:

  • I knew something very significant was afoot when, in game 6 against Cleveland last weekend, J.D. Drew hit a first inning grand slam. When Fox’s Joe Buck commented in a later at bat that Drew was getting a huge ovation from the Fenway crowd, I thought to myself, I’m living in a parallel universe where J.D. Drew hits grand slams and the fans love him. Don’t look now, but as of last night, he had hit in nine consecutive postseason games. Damn.
  • Stupid Tim McCarver comment of 2007, from game 1: "Once that runner hits third, the next stop is home." I’m glad he told us that, because I had no idea.
  • Will any opposing starter make it through the 5th inning ever again? Game 1, Jeff Francis, 4 innings, 6 earned runs. Game 2, Ubaldo Jimenez, 4.2 innings, 2 earned runs and 5 walks. Game 3, Josh Fogg, 2.2 innings, 6 earned runs.
  • How about Daisuke getting an RBI hit in game 3? I love it when pitchers come up with offense.
  • My pick for series MVP so far: Dustin Pedroia.
  • Last night was the 3rd anniversary of the 2004 World Series victory. It has nothing to do with this year, but isn’t it still nice to think about?
  • On, and before I forget… Towels should be banned from all ballparks forever more.
  • And finally, am I the only one who was a bit stunned and concerned to hear that pitching coach John Farrell is a potential managerial candidate for the Pittsburgh Pirates? They have completely reeled me in when I have gotten attached to the coaches.

Enjoy the game folks. Think good thoughts.

3 Responses to “Lasts Chance to Blog before the (knockonwood) Big Win”

  1. Anonymous said

    Enjoy it while you can Red sox trash!The curse of bambino lives!I feel a 200 year red sox drought starting in 2008!You just got lucky enogh to face a young inexperienced team.Cant wait to see your team fall apart next year!!!!

  2. Ah, another desperate Yankees fan crawls out from under a rock. Love it!

  3. During The ’07 ALCS On FOX, “The Tim-inator” made this memorable comment “I Think That Youkilis Would Make a Good Number 8 Hitter with the pitcher’s spot due up.” In June with SF Giants, Tim came up with this gem “The last time the Giants had a runner on, was in the 4th Inning with YOUKILIS.”

Leave a comment